Showing Collections: 1 - 16 of 16
Addison Family Papers
Letters, 1890-1899, from Walter E. Addison, lawyer of Big Stone Gap, Wise County, Va. to his father E.B. Addison of Richmond, Va. concerning his financial problems. Also, includes bank statement, 1892; and letter, 1899, of John S. [Fleming ?] to E.B. Addison.
Thomas Croxton Papers
The collection contains letters, receipts, invoices, and account books of Thomas Croxton concerning his law practice at Tappahannock, Va. Includes accounts with J.M. Parr & Son, commission merchants of Baltimore, Md. who received grain from Croxton by ship and sold it on consignment.
Dromgoole Family Papers
George E. Dennis Papers
Letters, 1874-1883, to George E. Dennis, lawyer, in Rocky Mount (Franklin County, Va.) concerning the collection of debts.
J.T. McAllister Notebook, II
Notebook of typescript of abstracts of titles, 1852-1904, kept by Joseph T . McAllister, lawyer of Warm Springs, Virginiaa. The titles are to land in Bath County, Virginia and include supporting documents and surveys, descriptions of maps, copies of correspondence, list of assessed lands in various districts of Bath County (1904), separated by race; and a broadside, circa. 1904, for the sale of a Bath County farm.
James Lewis Anderson Papers
Legal and business papers of James Lewis Anderson, lawyer of Richmond, Va. Includes certificate, 1919, signed by Westmoreland Davis relieving him of his duties on the Legal Advisory Board because of the end of World War I; his appointment, 1908, signed by Claude A. Swanson appointing him as a delegate to the American Prison Association; and accounts, 9 September 1916-22 January 1917, of the Hermitage Country Club.
John Dandridge Papers
Papers; 1767-1825; of John Dandridge and John Hopkins. Include letters of Dandridge to Hopkins concerning his law practice; courtship; financial matters; a trip to the Sweet Springs (Monroe County, Va.) for his health; and "Providence Forge," New Kent County, Va. Includes papers (legal documents and accounts) concerning John Dandridge, Bartholomew Dandridge, John Armistead, William Armistead and John Hopkins.
A. K. Leake Papers
Papers, 1872-1901, of Judge A. K. Leake, Goochland County, Va. Many concern the settlement of the estate of Henry Timberlake and the lawsuit, Timberlake v. Timberlake. Includes two insurance policies, 1899-1900, on property in East Leake, Va.
Edmund J. Lee Papers
Three letters, 1829-1841, written by Edm[und] J[ennings] Lee of Alexandria, Va. to William M. Addison, William Bent and Francis Scott Key concerning legal cases; and two letters, 1844-1849, written to William Crauch by Charles H[enry] Lee and Cassius F[rancis] Lee.
R. H. Logan Papers
Papers, 1895-1899, of R. H. Logan, an attorney, in Salem, Va. Includes correspondence concerning his law practice.
Merritt Family Papers
Charles Triplett O'Ferrall Papers
Robert Ould Letters to Nathaniel Beverley Tucker
Two letters from Robert Ould to Nathaniel Beverly Tucker.
The 1868 letter, written from Richmond, Virginia, is four pages and refers to the punishment being meted out to Southern rebels, especially Jefferson Davis. (Ould was the Confederate chief of the Bureau of the Exchange of Prisoners.)
The 1877 letter is two pages and concerns Ould's son who was on trial for a shooting. Ould attended the proceedings.
John R. Rutherfoord Papers
Letters, 1888-1920, received by John R. Rutherfoord, an attorney in Richmond, Va. Most of the letters concern legal matters, but some are requests to endorse Rutherfoord for a judgeship in the 9th Judicial Circuit Court.
Archibald Stuart Papers
Newspaper clippings of letters, 1790-1811, in the Staunton Spectator May-June 1879, written to Judge Archibald Stuart, Staunton, Va. chiefly by Thomas Jefferson at "Monticello" concerning plantation and agricultural matters. The clippings include copies of letters from James Monroe, John Marshall, Henry Lee (1756-1818) and a photostat of a letter, 25 August 1816, from Stuart to William Wirt giving reminiscences of Patrick Henry.